You are here

Winterwood (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
Winterwood Cover Image
$18.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


Nora Walker is rumored to be a witch, but only rumors as she is afraid that the magic that's been at home in her family for so many generations might've skipped her all together. Despite this, she has a special connection to the Wicker Woods, the deepest part of the forest that even the locals who don't believe know not to go through. It's this special connection that helps her find the lost boy, Oliver Huntsmen. 

Robert Frost's poem "The woods" would've been a perfect intro to this story because it encapsulates it perfectly. The prose is absolutely beautiful and the story had me at the edge of my seat the entire time. I read this in only two hours! I fell in love with the Winter Woods and wanted to be a part of the Walker family by the end of the novel. Pick this up if you love magical forests that are lovely, dark, and deep, ones that keep you going miles before you sleep. 

— Katlin Kerrison

Winter 2019 Kids Indie Next List


“In this spine-tingling young adult novel, Nora Walker is the last in a long line of witches but has never found her magic. She lives a quiet life across the lake from a camp for wayward boys. With the arrival of each full moon (and only at the full moon), she ventures into the darkest, most dangerous part of the woods, where she finds lost things. This time, the lost thing she finds is a boy. Very atmospheric and full of surprises.”
— Lisa Wright, Oblong Books and Music, Millerton, NY

Description


Deluxe edition with special embellishments on first printing only.

From New York Times bestselling author of The Wicked Deep comes a haunting romance perfect for fans of Practical Magic, where dark fairy tales and enchanted folklore collide after a boy, believed to be missing, emerges from the magical woods—and falls in love with the witch determined to unravel his secrets.

Be careful of the dark, dark wood…

Especially the woods surrounding the town of Fir Haven. Some say these woods are magical. Haunted, even.

Rumored to be a witch, only Nora Walker knows the truth. She and the Walker women before her have always shared a special connection with the woods. And it’s this special connection that leads Nora to Oliver Huntsman—the same boy who disappeared from the Camp for Wayward Boys weeks ago—and in the middle of the worst snowstorm in years. He should be dead, but here he is alive, and left in the woods with no memory of the time he’d been missing.

But Nora can feel an uneasy shift in the woods at Oliver’s presence. And it’s not too long after that Nora realizes she has no choice but to unearth the truth behind how the boy she has come to care so deeply about survived his time in the forest, and what led him there in the first place. What Nora doesn’t know, though, is that Oliver has secrets of his own—secrets he’ll do anything to keep buried, because as it turns out, he wasn’t the only one to have gone missing on that fateful night all those weeks ago.

For as long as there have been fairy tales, we have been warned to fear what lies within the dark, dark woods and in Winterwood, New York Times bestselling author Shea Ernshaw, shows us why.

About the Author


Shea Ernshaw is the author of The Wicked Deep and Winterwood. She works as a producer for a film production company and shares a home with her husband, a dog named Diesel, and two cats. She is happiest when lost in a good book, lost in the woods, or writing her next novel. You can connect with her online at SheaErnshaw.com.

Praise For…


Winter 2019 Indie Next Pick

Kirkus Reviews "Falls Biggest YA Books of 2019"
B&N Teen Blog "Most Anticipated Fantasy YA of 2019"
B&N Teen Blog "10 of the Biggest Fall Fantasies" 
B&N Teen Blog "Our Most Anticipated Sophomore Novels of 2019"

"A delectably immersive, eerie experience." -- Kirkus 

"A spellbinding tale of witchery, deadly secrets, and woods that hold grudges. Winterwood is immersive, atmospheric, and bewitching.  --Stephanie Garber#1 New York Times & international bestselling author of the Caraval series.

"Winterwood casts a deliciously dark spell with a rich lineage of witches, secretive boys, and a sinister forest that will pull in any reader and never let them go." -- Megan Shepherd, New York Times bestselling author of Grim Lovelies  

“Shea Ernshaw spins yet another haunting tale in Winterwood. Mythic prose and atmospheric storytelling will leave readers spellbound and hungry for more of Ernshaw‘s witchy worlds." --Adrienne Young, New York Times bestselling author of Sky in the Deep.

“The beauty and mystery of the natural world infuse every moment in this lush, spellbinding story that weaves romance with witchcraft—a seductive, lyrical tale of lost boys, old legends and haunted woods.” –Lexa Hillyer, author of Spindle Fire

"Lyrical, magical and mysterious, Winterwood left me intoxicated, dancing beneath an endless moon." -- Dawn Kurtagich, author of Teeth in the Mist

"Readers who loved A Discovery of Witches, Practical Magic, The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane and other books featuring long lineages of magical women . . . will find much to enjoy here. Ernshaw’s deeply atmospheric prose makes Winterwood the perfect read for a cold and gloomy day." --Bookpage

"Ernshaw weaves an irresistible spell, entwining nature, romance, and magic through a lyrical text." -- Booklist 

"A vivid fantasy world and a dark, thrilling atmosphere that drives the biting cold of Winterwood deep into readers’ bones."
--Publishers Weekly

"Gasp- and sigh-worthy." -- BCCB

"A dynamic thriller for fans of paranormal fiction." -- SLJ
Product Details
ISBN: 9781534439412
ISBN-10: 1534439412
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Publication Date: November 5th, 2019
Pages: 336